After How Many Hours Do I Get Paid Overtime in California?
California law requires that employers pay overtime at the rate of 1.5 times the employee's regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 up to and including 12 hours in any workday, and for the first 8 hours of work on the 7th consecutive day of work in a workweek, and double the employee's regular rate for all hours worked more than 12 in any workday and for all hours worked more than 8 on the 7th consecutive day of work in a workweek.
What is the Longest Shift You Can Legally Work in California?
There is no specific cap on the number of hours an employee can legally work in a day in California. However, labor laws specify that non-exempt employees are entitled to overtime pay if they work more than 8 hours in a single workday, or more than 40 hours in a single workweek.
Related Article: How Many Hours Can You Work in a Day?
What are the New Labor Laws for California in 2023?
Starting in Jan. 2023, employers with 25 or fewer employees must pay agriculture workers overtime after 9 hours per day or 50 hours per week. For companies with 26 or more employees, employers must pay agriculture workers overtime after 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week.
Read Also: California Payroll Laws
How Employers Calculate Full-Time Equivalent Under the Affordable Care Act
An employer determines its number of full-time-equivalent employees for a month by combining the number of hours of service of all non-full-time employees for the month and dividing the total by 120.
Related Article: Protected Classes in California
How Does Eligibility Status Change Under the ACA When a Worker Switches from Full-Time to Part-Time?
A full-time employee who is in a stability period and experiences a change in employment status to part-time will remain full-time for ACA purposes until the end of the stability period. The employee’s full-time status is kept “stable” for the entire stability period regardless of how many hours per week the employee is currently working.
Can Employees Work 7 Days in a Row in California?
California law usually prohibits an employer from requiring you to work more than 6 out of 7 days in a given workweek. Under California Labor Code sections 551 and 552, employees are entitled to 1 day of rest out of 7, and employers cannot require their employees to work more than 6 days per week. If your boss violates these rules, they could be guilty of a misdemeanor.
- How Many Days in a Row Can You Work?
- Should I Use My Vacation Time Before I Quit?
- Can I Be Forced to Work on a Federal Holiday?
See all related hourly worker wage dispute lawsuits our lawyers covered so far.
Get a Free Lawsuit Evaluation With Our Lawyers
The Litigation Group at Schmidt & Clark, LLP law firm is an experienced team of trial lawyers that focus on the representation of plaintiffs in lawsuits. We are handling individual litigation nationwide and currently accepting new legal challenges in all 50 states.
If you or a loved one was injured, you should contact our law firm immediately for a free case evaluation. You may be entitled to a settlement by filing a suit and we can help.