FREE Case Review (866) 588-0600

Reporting Time Pay California:
Definition, Examlpes & Rules

In California, “reporting time pay” is a form of wages that compensate employees who are scheduled to work but who are not put to work or given less than half of their usual day’s work because of improper scheduling or lack of proper notice by his or her employer.
Awards & recognition
C.L. Mike Schmidt Published by C.L. Mike Schmidt

Schmidt & Clark, LLP is not currently accepting these types of cases and has posted this content for information purposes only. We encourage you to seek a qualified attorney, if you feel you might have a case.


What are the Rules for Reporting Time Pay?

Provisions of the law regarding reporting time pay include:

  1. Each work day an employee is required to report to work, but is not put to work or is given less than 50% of their usual or scheduled day's work, they must be paid for half the usual or scheduled day's work, but not less than 2 hours nor more than 4 hours, at their usual pay rate.
  2. If an employee is scheduled to work a second time in any 1 workday and is given less than 2 hours of work on the 2nd reporting, they must be paid for 2 hours at their usual rate of pay.

How is Reporting Time Pay Calculated in California?

When an employee shows up for work but is given less than half of their scheduled day’s work, California law requires the employer to compensate the worker for half of their regularly scheduled shift, at their usual rate of pay. This compensation shall be no less than 2 hours of pay, and not over 4.

If a worker reports to work for the 2nd time in a given workday and is sent home in under 2 hours, that worker is entitled to 2 hours of reporting time pay at their regular rate of pay.

Also Read: California Law on Commission Pay After Termination

Reporting Time Pay Examples

  • Reporting Time Pay Example 1: John reports to his job at the grocery store at 8 am. He is supposed to work from 8 am until 5 pm, with a lunch break from 12 to 1 pm. However, business is slow and his manager tells John to go home at 11 am. Under the law of Reporting Time Pay, John is entitled to payment for the 3 hours that he worked in addition to 1 hour of reporting time pay to cover half of his shift, up to the maximum of 4 hours.
  • Reporting Time Pay Example 2: The next day, John reports to work the same shift he was supposed to work a day earlier. However, John's manager has scheduled too many workers for the shift and tells John to go home before he even clocks in. In this case, John is entitled to 4 hours of reporting time pay to cover half of his shift, the maximum required by reporting time pay law.

Related Articles:

See all related hourly worker wage dispute lawsuits our attorneys covered so far.

Get a Free Lawsuit Evaluation With Our Lawyers

The Litigation Group at Schmidt & Clark, LLP is an experienced team of trial lawyers that focuses on the representation of plaintiffs in lawsuits. We are handling individual litigation nationwide and currently accepting new legal challenges in all 50 states.

If you or a loved one was involved with these matters, you should contact our law firm immediately for a free case evaluation. You may be entitled to a settlement by filing a suit and we can help.