What are Employer Obligations in California?
California law prohibits an employer from discriminating or retaliating against employees of protected classes. Employers are also required to provide pregnancy accommodations, provide equal pay, allow wage discussions and employees access to their personnel files, and protect whistleblowers.
What is California's New Law for Wages?
Starting on January 1, 2023, the minimum wage is $15.50/hour for all employers in California. Some cities and counties have higher minimum wages than the state's rate.
How Many Hours Can You Work Straight in California?
In California, there is no cap on the number of hours an employee can legally work in a day. However, labor laws specify that non-exempt employees are entitled to overtime pay if they work more than 8 hours in a single workday or over 40 hours in a single workweek.
What are 3 Rights Workers Have in California?
California workers are entitled to minimum wage and overtime, rest and meal breaks, and safe and healthy jobs.
What is the 72 Hour Rule in California?
Per Labor Code Section 202, when an employee that doesn't have a written contract quits their employment and gives 72 hours prior notice, and quits on the day given in the notice, the employee is entitled to their wages at the time of quitting.
Related Article: Can I Be Forced to Work on a Federal Holiday?
What Happens if My Paycheck is Late in California?
Employers in California are legally required to pay their employees on the scheduled payday. Late payment can result in waiting time penalties, and may also be a violation of state or federal wage and hour laws.
What if My Boss Hasn't Paid Me On Time?
If your regular payday for the last pay period has passed and you have not been paid, contact the Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (WHD) or the state labor department. The WHD has mechanisms in place for the recovery of back wages.
Read Also: What Is Paga Lawsuit and How to File One?
What is the Final Paycheck Law in California?
California employment laws stipulate that employees must receive final paychecks immediately. If an employee is fired or doesn't have a say in leaving their job, they must be paid immediately following termination. An employee who quits must be given their final paycheck within 72 hours of giving notice.
- Nationwide Overtime Wage Dispute Lawsuit
- Should I Use My Vacation Time Before I Quit?
- How Many Days in a Row Can You Work?
See all related hourly worker wage dispute lawsuits our lawyers covered so far.
Get a Free Lawsuit Evaluation With Our Lawyers
The Litigation Group at Schmidt & Clark, LLP is an experienced team of trial lawyers that focuses on the representation of plaintiffs in lawsuits. We are handling individual litigation nationwide and currently accepting new legal challenges in all 50 states.
If you or a loved one was involved with these matters, you should contact our law firm immediately for a free case evaluation. You may be entitled to a settlement by filing a suit and we can help.