FREE Case Review (866) 588-0600

Nevada Driving Record:
What It Shows & How to Remove Points (Guide)

If you are a resident of Nevada and are interested in obtaining a copy of your driving record, simply visit your local Department of Vehicles (DMV) or go online. A copy of your 3-year or 10-year driving record is available for a $7 fee.
Awards & recognition
C.L. Mike Schmidt Published by C.L. Mike Schmidt
Free Confidential Lawsuit Review
If you or a loved one was injured, you should contact our lawyers immediately. You may be entitled to compensation by filing a lawsuit and we can help. Please click the button below for a Free Case Evaluation or call us toll-free 24 hrs/day by dialing (866) 588-0600.

Start My Free Case Review

What Information Does My Nevada Driving Record Show?

A Nevada driving record will contain your driver’s history. Included in the record are car accidents, citations, DUIs, and suspensions. Along with this information, your driving record will also show the points against your license.

What are Points on a Driving Record?

Under Nevada’s demerit point system, a driver who gets 12 or more points on their driving record within 1 year will be punished with a 6-month suspension on their license. Demerit points are added to a driving record following traffic violations and certain criminal traffic violations.

How Many Points is a Speeding Ticket in Nevada?

One to 10 mph over the posted speed limit equals 1 point on your driving record. Eleven to 20 miles over the speed limit is 2 points. Twenty-one to 30 mph over the speed limit is 3 points.

Do You Lose Your License for a DUI in Nevada?

If you get a DUI in Nevada, the DMV automatically suspends your driver’s license for 90 days. If you get a 2nd DUI over the next 7 years, your license will be suspended for 1 year.

How Do I Get a DUI Removed From My Record in Nevada?

The only way to have a DUI removed from your driving record in Nevada is by filing for a record sealing with the court. Nevada law permits DUI conviction records to be sealed 7 years after the case ends for 1st and 2nd offense DUI. However, criminal records may never be sealed for felony DUI convictions, which include 3rd offense DUI and DUI causing injury or death.

If you manage to get your convictions sealed, they will not be visible to potential employers, landlords, or anyone else performing background checks.

Related Article: How Do I Lookup a Dui Arrest Record?

What Speed is Reckless Driving in Nevada?

It depends. Any unreasonable speed considering the traffic, weather, and highway conditions may be considered reckless driving. Likewise, any speed that could cause injury, death, or property damage; at a speed greater than a posted speed limit; and any speed greater than 80 miles per hour.

How Can I Get Points Removed From My License?

Points begin disappearing automatically after 12 months of receiving the first one. By completing a traffic safety course, you can get 3 points shaved off your driving record. You are not allowed to attend traffic school more than once per year to remove 3 points from your record.

Related Articles:

See all related personal njury lawsuits our lawyer covered so far.

Get a Free Lawsuit Evaluation With Our Lawyers

The Litigation Group at Schmidt & Clark, LLP law firm is an experienced team of trial lawyers focusing on plaintiffs’ representation in lawsuits. We are handling individual litigation nationwide and currently accepting new legal challenges in all 50 states.

If you or a loved one was involved with such matters, you should contact Schmidt & Clark immediately for a free case evaluation. You may be entitled to a settlement by filing a suit and we can help.

Free Confidential Case Evaluation

Verified 100% Secure SiteTo contact us for a free review of your potential case, please fill out the form below or call us toll free 24 hrs/day by dialing: (866) 588-0600.