What is the Charge for Prostitution in Arizona?
Knowingly engaging in prostitution in Arizona is prosecuted as a class 1 misdemeanor. Class 1 is the highest-level misdemeanor, and while not as severe as a felony, a class 1 misdemeanor is a serious charge.
A.R.S. § 13-3214(E)(1) states: “A person who is convicted of a first violation of this section shall be sentenced to serve not less than fifteen consecutive days in jail and is not eligible for probation or suspension of execution of the sentence until the entire sentence is served.”
Read Also: Is Prostitution Legal in California?
Escorting vs. Prostitution: What's the Difference?
An escort is an individual who offers entertainment or social interaction in exchange for monetary compensation. Escorts and prostitutes are often confused, but the main difference between the 2 is that an escort is paid for their time while a prostitute is explicitly paid for sexual conduct.
Is Escorting Legal in Arizona?
So long as escorts don’t offer or engage in sexual acts in exchange for money, they are technically not engaging in prostitution. Therefore, escorting is technically legal in Arizona as long as there is no sexual activity involved.
However, escorts and escort agencies are commonly known for exchanging sexual services in violation of Arizona prostitution laws. Many escorts and escort agencies claim they’re selling social and entertainment services to avoid the legal consequences of prostitution.
Related Article: Are Escort Companies Legal?
What is Pimping and Pandering?
Arizona law ARS 13-3209 defines pandering as convincing or coercing someone to be a prostitute. This may include defrauding someone into prostitution, using someone’s debt to force them into prostitution, or causing a spouse or significant other to engage in prostitution.
Alternatively, pimping involves pandering as well as receiving the earnings of a prostitute. ARS 13-3204 states that it is illegal to receive earnings garnered from prostitution. Additionally, you can be charged with pimping simply by knowingly accepting compensation from another person who earned money through prostitution.
How Long Do Pimps Go To Jail in Arizona?
Pimping and pandering are class 5 felonies in Arizona, punishable by a sentence of, at minimum, 6 months in jail, and up to 2 1/2 years in state prison. Enticing another to a house of prostitution is a class 6 felony in Arizona, punishable by a minimum of 4 months in jail and up to 2 years in prison.
Being employed by a house of prostitution is a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
- What are the 3 Elements of Prostitution?
- Is It Illegal to Have Sex in a Car?
- Statute of Limitations on Sexual Assault
See all related sexual abuse lawsuits our attorneys covered so far.
Get a Free Lawsuit Evaluation With Our Lawyers
The Sexual Abuse Group at Schmidt & Clark, LLP law firm is an experienced team of trial lawyers focusing on plaintiffs' representation in lawsuits. We are handling individual litigation nationwide and currently accepting new legal challenges in all 50 states.
If you or a loved one was involved with such matters, you should contact Schmidt & Clark immediately for a free case evaluation. You may be entitled to a settlement by filing a suit and we can help.